"POP 101" 101 and Some Thoughts On Irony
I heard the end of this song on the radio and despite me being very uncomfortable about it, it has been stuck on my head constantly. I feel a vague amount of shame about this, but also a burning need to write.
If you don’t feel like watching a
youtube video (the song is ok, the video is pretty obnoxious) or listening to a song by Marianas Trench (both are very
reasonable ways to be), I’ll give you a basic wrap-up. It is a song about pop
music and its tropes, (sort of since 2008) that actually manages to be a pretty
(good? catchy?) pop song only by explicitly stating these tropes. “don’t you bore us, hurry up and get to the
chorus”.
Rather than make my first non-introductory
post about postmodernism per se, I’m just going to get it off my chest.
POSTMODERNISM ~pOsTmOdErN~ ~welcome
to the postmodern people~
In my thoughts on it up to this
point I got about this far
Anyways. What I find interesting
about this song (and its music video in particular) is the way that it reflects
the case of irony in culture in general.
A course I took last semester (80s
Cinema) talked about the notion of pastiche vs parody. Essentially, this boiled
down to the idea that what is done in a lot of modern cinema is less a parody
of styles where it is actually making a point and more just a series of ways for
a viewer to pat themselves on the back for being very clever: “Oh I get that
reference”. (Jameson’s “Postmodernism or the Cultural Logic of Late Capitalism”
has a good bit on this, as does Schatz’ “The New Hollywood”
Someone on a facebook group I am in
– (cool freaks groovy jamz) - had an opinion in that vein.
So is that all this is? Is it just
a really dumb “hey pop music is formulaic” thing? Somehow I’m not convinced.
There is a decent amount of skill involved in making pop music, and not
everybody could have done this. The basic amount of research I did also
informed me that Joshua Ramsaywrote call me maybe, which is a REALLY good pop
song. See (hyperlinked owen pallet article). So at the very least, I’d say this
is like an update of “The Evolution of Dance” for another 10 or so years.
Still, there are a decent amount of
things about this that make it fit into all of the pop politics that it seems
to target. Like, even though he is “making fun of” girls in music videos, he’s…
not really doing that. It’s kind of like how “ironic racism” is often just “racism”.
And also, Blink 182 (and many others) have kind of been doing this shit for a really long time.
If I had more time and wasn’t
writing this at 11pm I would go into David Foster Wallace’s “E Unibas Pluram”
and try to figure the politics out a bit better, but this will suffice for now.
As always, comment, tweet @kleixa, or email
ian.rodgers@mail
Comments
Post a Comment