The Cycle - Brief Meditations on Completely Wasted Time

Ed. Note - instead of writing this blog post, I should really be doing my god damned philosophy readings.

The format of this is going to be weird. I'm going to attempt to describe something I do, and what might lead me to doing it. Maybe it will be insightful?

Procrastination is kind of the thing to deal with in university. At the end of the day, what makes you succeed in school is doing the work and getting to class. I've been down a road of complete procrastination that led to pretty acute disaster before. I'm getting better, but I still find myself throwing time away.

I've gone through a lot of different forms of procrastination. From high school up until first year, it was mostly video games. League of Legends was particularly bad. I still occasionally will pick up a video game, but it's not a regular thing any more.

The next big one was television. Various shows on Netflix and off torrent sites accompanied me to the aforementioned academic collapse. Again, I still watch television programs, but it's much less frequent.

Which brings us to where I'm at now, the method of procrastination that has kind of always been around for me but is now primary. I call it the cycle. There are a few websites I check on a daily basis, various webcomics, my school email, the price of bitcoin, my bank account, and the big ones of Facebook/Twitter etc. Facebook is essentially always there in the background for me. I use the chat relatively frequently, and I've always kind of chatted online since I can remember having a computer.

The cycle is this odd thing I do where I just kind of open and close pages, again and again. I'll open up a webcomic that I know hasn't updated around 5 times in a night. I'll look at facebook, kind of just waiting for new stuff to come up. I'll look at the side chat bar, and consider talking to people. When I'm in the midst of the cycle, I'm not really ~doing~ anything. I'm not chatting, or watching anything in particular. I'm just kind of looking at various pages and gaining no new information from them. It's kind of a fucked up thing I'd say.

I think where it comes from is this desire to not worry or focus on anything in particular. Something about my anxiety towards school puts me into a state where I just want my brain to be off, and so I sort of get into this weird trance where nothing gets accomplished.

I don't really know what else to say on it, other than to ask if anyone else can relate to it, and how they keep themselves away from it. My primary successful strategy is to change my location and go to the library, it's nigh-on impossible for me to get things done in my room.

Anyways - thanks for reading my ramblings.

Comments

Popular Posts